A14. Night Time is My Time

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Because the Night.”

I’m a night owl. I can barely remember a day on which I fell asleep before 1 in the night. Instead, even on days when I’ve to wake up early in the morning (that is, after 7 and before 9 in the morning), I sleep at 2 in the night. Many-a-times I fall asleep when the majority of people in India get out of their bed. Waking up early in the morning is the hardest thing for me. If you would ask me to wake up early in the morning (that is, at 4 or 5 in the morning), I would instead stay awake until morning because I know that the chances of me being able to wake up early in the morning are minimal. But, this is not something that I’m proud of. I’ve already mentioned in my last blog post that it’s a habit that I want to get rid of.

211629987_Garfield_I_Dont_Do_Mornings_xlarge_answer_1_xlarge

Picture Source: www.sodahead.com

I’ve missed numerous lectures and events by staying up until late in the night because when I stay up until late in the night, I wake up late in the morning. It’s this that’s making me want to get rid of the habit of staying up until late in the night. I do not want to stay up until late in the night at the cost of my college lectures.

Often, when people ask me why I stay up until late in the night, I tell them that I’m following the time of UK in India. At times I wonder if I would go through jet lag if I someday travel to UK from India. On a serious note, night time is my time. It’s peaceful. It’s a time at which no one can disturb me and I can do anything that I want to. Night time is the time when I feel free.

Also, it’s the time at which I feel most active. During exams, I study in the night until early in the morning and sleep until late in the morning or early afternoon. But I avoid staying up until late unnecessarily as when I do so, it ruins my schedule. Though, even when I try to fall asleep early, regardless of how hard I try, I cannot fall asleep before 2 in the night.

15d9ed97a72eec717a2e71f93099da76

Picture Source: www.pinterest.com

I would say that the night time is the time when I do my best work as it’s the time when my mind works better than it usually does at any other time of the day. I get the best ideas in the night as that’s the time when I get a suitable environment to think; an environment with least distractions.

Night time is the time when I get the space to introspect. It’s the time when I can connect to my inner self or my spiritual self. It’s the time when I make decisions for myself. If I’d not stayed up until late thinking about random things, I doubt if I would be who I’m today. Personal growth is my priority. Thus, I would say that it’s the most productive time of the day.

quote-night-time-is-really-the-best-time-to-work-all-the-ideas-are-there-to-be-yours-because-everyone-catherine-o-hara-296498

Picture Source: izquotes.com

I cannot fall asleep until late in the night and staying in bed until late is not good for me. Thus, I’ll instead have to minimize the number of hours that I spend in/on bed. I anyway oversleep.

82085177424614060115

One thought on “A14. Night Time is My Time

Leave a Reply

