A49. Sugar Leads to Agreement and Consent

I’ve been thinking about whether sugar can influence the probability of giving consent or agreement. I believe that sugar can increase the chances of giving consent or agreement. It’s highly probable! However, it still is a working theory and I’ll have to conduct a few experiments to prove it.

This question of whether sugar can influence the probability of giving consent or agreement first popped up in my mind when I was tossing and turning in my bed in the middle of the night of January 29. I immediately got out of bed to note down the question in a journal that I usually keep beside my bed. The word ‘usually’ is rather misleading; I’ve recently started keeping a journal beside my bed to note down any ideas that would pop up in my mind when I’d be tossing and turning in my bed in the middle of the night. Anyway, the answer to this question came to me when I was taking a shower on the afternoon of January 30. The answer was dopamine and its effect on our thinking process.

I think that the release of dopamine on the intake of sugar makes the System 2 of our mind take a backseat. System 2 is a term used by Daniel Kahneman in his book Thinking, Fast and Slow to refer to a system that’s responsible for the thinking process of our mind that’s slow but rational. System 2 is a lazy critic.

sugar-09

I’ll have to further study the impact of dopamine on the thinking process of the human mind to understand if it actually influences the probability of giving consent or agreement. If I ever meet you in person, please do not be surprised if I offer you sweets when we have an argument.

Perhaps, you can take sweets with you to board meetings or the next time you want to have a conversation with your boss for a raise in your salary? FYI: I’m proposing that sugar increases the probability of agreement or consent. I hope that you understand the difference between what’s probable and what’s certain. In other words, sugar does not guarantee agreement or consent.

 

82085177424614060115

 

 

2 thoughts on “A49. Sugar Leads to Agreement and Consent

Leave a Reply

